What Do You Do With Your Fears?

Growing up, we lived in a sprawling old farmhouse that was full of interesting nooks and crannies.  During the day, these areas were full of fun times and grand adventures – great for hide and seek, forming clubs, or games of pretend.  At night, these same magical spots terrified me and suddenly hid scary thoughts instead of fun pleasures.  My bedroom was located on one side of the house while my parents slumbered clear on the other side.  If I woke in the middle of the night, I would tear through the darkness as fast as I could, avoiding all sorts of perceived danger, until I reached my parent’s room.  I would gently tap my dad’s shoulder and with him by my side, I would safely walk my way to the bathroom, and then back to my bedroom. I’m sure my parents did not relish these awakenings and had to feel some level of annoyance at the fact that I passed by 2 bathrooms on my way to their room.  Yet, I never felt the slightest impatience from my dad as he carefully walked me back through the house.  He provided the support and love I needed in the mist of my fear. 

This month, I have been meditating on a verse that talks about God’s fatherly provision in our moments of fear.  It states, “For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.”  Isaiah 41:13.  I love the imagery of God taking hold of my right hand because it is so like my childhood moments when my parents provided the support I needed.  It also reminds me of my own instinct to grab my children’s hands to protect them.  Seeing God as our perfect Father is so incredibly  beautiful and reassuring. 

I think we tend to focus on the “Do not fear” command and assume that the emotion of fear itself is wrong and should be avoided.  However, as I have been studying God’s commands to “not fear,” I have noticed that God often makes this statement right after He has made His presence known in some form.  He does not deny the validity of our fears but is, in fact, quick to acknowledge them. He appears to understand our fear and to know that we have real reasons to be afraid.  Yet, He offers an alternative to our fears.  He offers His very real and incredibly protective presence.   Our fears have the potential to lead us away from God if we are not careful.  God is commanding us to draw close to Him in our fear.  The question to ask is not, “How do I avoid fear?” but “Where are my fears leading me?”  If they are leading you into a deeper understanding and closer relationship with God, then you are truly learning the source of all bravery and how to conquer the all too real fears that this world throws our way.

Leave a comment